comment 0

Woman’s Best Friend


Well, the month of June came and gone filled with a lot of exciting things in our lives. It’s hard to believe (well not really ALL that hard to believe) that here I am and July has nearly gotten away from me as well. But I’m back, with as much frequency as I can make happen.

With work and life happening there are things that I never did write about but I would be remiss to not blog at least once about this. In fact, it is on the top ten list of most exciting life-changing things that has happened in the last decade! I got a dog… #myfirstdogever!

Back in April, on one of our fairly routine visits to the local shelter for a “doggy date”, we met the sweetest one year old, german shepherd/yellow lab male dog. We took him to walk for some fresh air. He was smart and attentive, active but not overly excitable. After spending just a few minutes with him, it didn’t take much thought on my part to ask if we could take him home.

I wasn’t expecting to hear any other response than “not today”. We had already agreed we were going to wait and get things prepared at home first. In fact, we had rules when we went on our “doggy dates”: no crying when we leave without a dog. The expectation was we were only going to visit the dogs, not to take one home. But when I asked, he nodded his head affirmatively. I was so shocked, I burst into tears… right there… in the middle of the shelter!

We filled out the paperwork for his adoption and paid the fee. Next we went off to get all the basic doggy necessities: bowls, food, collar, leash and toys. We had some errands to run, and learned he loves to be in the car (happy dance), and then we made our way home to surprise my daughter. I love giving surprises (PSA to my friends and loved ones: I don’t like getting surprises though)!

We named him Woodstock… and every day with him has been a fulfillment of every good thing that I fantasized having a dog would be. I couldn’t have imagined a more perfect dog for me. He is my buddy, and we do nearly everything together. We run errands, take 4 mile walks in the mornings and make pitstops at Starbucks. I teach and he learns.

Of course, I take pictures of him EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. I mean, how can I not? I am a photographer, and he has the face of a model…which got me thinking. “Why not share all this cuteness with the world?”

Every day is an adventure with him. Please follow him on Instagram @lifewithwoodstock to keep up with his new life in our family.

 

Leave a Reply

