© 2014 Southern Girl Photography. All Rights Reserved Visit www.SouthernGirlPhotography.NET to schedule your session!
comment 0

Time to Stretch and Grab Ahold


The new year has begun and with it comes new resolutions and sets of goals. It seems like that is the primary topic of internal dialogue I have for the first couple of weeks of a new year.  I may not talk about it much with others but it is definitely on my mind. I take my time to decide on what I really want to do in the year. Sometimes it takes me the whole month of January; but that is because I am finding my way out of the theme of the previous year, analyzing what I did and didn’t achieve and why, and then I focus on finding my footing for the new year. I want to be intentional in deciding exactly what I want to focus on in the specific areas of my life.

I wouldn’t say that last year was my most successful goal achieving year I’ve had. Yet, I achieved a lot, particularly in my business and my craft. Somewhere along the line I changed the trajectory of my course and pursued different things. This year, I want to be more aware of where I am on the path I choose to be on. In order to do that, I am going to write specific steps for each goal I commit to. I’ve never felt the need to be that specific. I usually do very well at staying on task all year in order to meet my goals. But I’m realizing that with so much on my plate and with so many different demands, it is easy to get distracted. I am going to have to adopt a new plan if I am going to make things happen. And if you have been reading this blog for any period of time, then you know I am all about marking things “DONE” on that proverbial list of mine.

So here’s to the new year…. to accomplishing measurable, mind-blowing and life changing things! If you haven’t thought much about those things that lie just enough outside your reach that you are going to have to stretch to grab ahold of them then I hope you take some time and write down the vision you have for your year.  That is what I am hoping to finish up this week. And when I do, I will share them with you.

And while I am talking about a new year and life changing things, I want to give a shout out to a lovely young woman I had the pleasure to photograph recently. She is newly married, her husband is getting ready to graduate from boot camp and she is moving out of state to a new place away from family. This year is going to be an incredible journey for her. I am fully confident that she is going to discover in herself an amazing strength and joy in the midst of all the change. Megan, I think you are awesome!

2014_Blog_MeganD

Leave a Reply

