comment 0

Just Imagine


A couple of weeks ago I was doing some “research” on Pinterest and came across one of those visually beautiful quotes that someone created. It said, “Just imagine”. It caused me to pause and reminded me of something that I often tell my girlfriends, and myself for that matter: “You never know what can happen in a year.”

In 2006, when I still lived in Phoenix, I made a friend in my dance class. At the end of that semester he moved across the country to pursue his career goals. We kept in touch off and on through texts and the occasional emails. Then nearly exactly one year later, I received a call that he was getting married. Prior to that moment, it never occurred to me just how different life can be in just one year. He moved, started over, found a new job, fell in love and got married. The idea that life can make a 180 degree turn in one year hit me so profoundly that, to this day, I remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when he called to tell me.

It’s easy to get caught up in the daily grind and the struggles that seem like they never end. But often times, when I look back, I can see just how different life really is, despite it seeming so unchanged. Just imagine if we could consciously walk through daily life fully aware that life will be different in a year. I think many people would live with a lot more hope and joy. I know I would live with a lot less stress and much more gratitude. Just imagine if we could focus on the direction we are headed as opposed to where we have been. Would it cause us to dream bigger dreams and accomplish them? Would we become more resourceful with the limitations we have to work within? Would we enjoy our relationships more? Would we worry less about who did what to whom? Would we be influencers instead of being influenced?

In the past year a lot has happened in my life- lots of good things and lots of challenges. I bought a car, moved twice, had an appendectomy, had way more dental work done than I ever want to do again in one year, had bureaucratic hiccups in receiving timely child support payments, changed the course of my education, took a family vacation, transitioned away from working outside of my business…. and these are just things that I can think of off the top of my head. I know there have been many more.  But as I read back my list, they really only account for the tangible things. They don’t account for the personal and relational growth. They don’t account for the confidence and self-assuredness that comes from getting to the other side of the challenges. Inner strength is always a by-product of life’s twists and turns.

I want to take the rest of this year being completely absorbed in “just imagining” what the outcome of my days, weeks, months, year will be and then move towards those things. I hope that some of you will jump on board with me. Just imagine what great things will result!

 

(Source: hellyeahjustlikethat.tumblr.com/post/59308058644)

(Source: hellyeahjustlikethat.tumblr.com/post/59308058644)

Leave a Reply

