comments 3

One of Those Days


You know those days, right? We all have them, right? Please tell me I’m not the only one!

It was one of those days that started off with an hour drive to the dentist for a 5 minute appointment just to turn around and drive that hour back into town… followed up with a 45 minute “pit stop” at the bank to find out why the fraudulent charge on the credit card still hadn’t been reversed. Starved and exhausted and wanting to get home, I received a call to attend an unexpected meeting going on right then. Unprepared, hungry and disheveled, I went only to find out I would also have to say a few words. And after all that was done, I looked at the clock, it was “quitting time”, traffic was stacking up and my tank was on “E”. Still hungry and even more tired, I filled the tank and remembered I needed to do something for dinner. An almost quick run through the store and then I was finally on my way home…. And then I saw one of the most beautiful things in Tennessee: the sun setting. I pulled off the road and sat while the sun dropped behind the silo. The fatigue, the hunger and the frustration of the day quieted as I paused. What a gift! That moment completely transformed what had been a long, tedious day into a day of tremendous gratitude.

image

3 Comments

  1. aaww my friend. That sunset is beautiful and does make you stop and smell the flowers for a moment. XOXO – Bacon

  2. Beautiful! God has amazing ways of getting us to take a step back and enjoy the world around us in the midst of out stressful lives!

Leave a Reply

