comment 0

Self-Portrait Project


I photograph “every day” women. I love them as clients because I identify with them: not just in the role as mom, wage earner, daughter, sister, significant other… but also as the subject in a photograph.

I much prefer to be behind the camera than in front of the camera. Yet, I realize that I need to exist in photographs, if for no other reason, for my daughter and my  someday grandchildren. There will never be a day when all the stars align and I am “tall enough”, “thin enough”, “pretty enough”, or “young enough”. The clock just keeps on ticking.  The truth of the matter is that I am already “tall enough”, “thin enough”, “pretty enough”, and “young enough.”

I recently pledged to do a year long self-portrait project. My goal is to photograph myself once a month. Hopefully, as I continue along, the technical mastery and the artistic skill will improve. I have awesome ideas… but sometimes my ideas don’t always translate into reality. But I keep trying. 🙂

With that said, here is installment 1 taken on 10/17/13.

FB_2013_SelfPortraitProject_1V

Leave a Reply

