comments 3

Sixteen Candles


image

Yes, that would be me when I turned 16.

My best friends “kidnapped” me at 5:30 IN THE MORNING to take me to Coco’s for breakfast! You know what I mean… the kind of kidnapping where you are NOT allowed to shower but are given 5 fleeting minutes to wake up; stumble around to the bathroom; put on the funny looking, ill fitting clothes the kidnappers hand you and, at the very least, brush your teeth. Did I mention it was game day and that I was a fellow cheerleader? And had to go straight to school after my kidnapping?! YIKES! It was a frightfully embarrassing day at school that day. Yet, one of the sweetest gestures and most memorable birthdays.

Today, my daughter is Sweet 16. She has been “kidnapped” but because I am the coolest mom EVER, she got to choose where she ends up after she gets “kidnapped” and when. Yesterday we hopped on a plane (appropriately dressed and groomed) and made the trek back to Phoenix so she could attend an awesome¬†West Coast Swing convention, Desert City Swing. It will be 6 days of dance, dance, DANCE for her and a great time to catch up with friends.

It’s unbelievable how fast 16 turned to 40. In many ways, it feels like it was yesterday. Yet even more remarkable, how infancy turned to 16.

To capture the woman she is becoming, as I have each year we have been in TN, we took some time for a photo shoot.

20130818IsaLacey07 copy 20130818IsaLacey10 copy 20130818IsaLacey13 copy 2bw 20130818IsaLacey17 copy

3 Comments

  1. Aww! I think I have a very similar photo from when I was kidnapped (but we went to Denny’s!). I think there were even our cheerleading uniforms involved. What a fun tradition- I’m happy to see that it still happens!

  2. Lisa Dulara

    such a beautiful young lady she has grown into. Congratulations on a job well done, Shayna. So proud of you!

  3. Starlet Jackson

    She is so beaitiful Shayna! Enjoy your time here! Hug that birthday beauty for me!

Leave a Reply

