comments 2

Getting Beyond What Is Comfortable


Every time I get the opportunity to photograph Tara I know it is going to be something great. Of course she is beautiful! And photogenic! And comfortable in front of the camera! But she is also easy going and has a joyful spirit. She has had to bear a lot of challenges beyond that which any young person should. Despite that, she remains sweet and unembittered. Being around her is always a joy and a lot of fun.  I love how she gives me the room to try new things during our photo shoots. She is game for just about anything.

I am proud of these portraits… Proud of her. She stepped up and gave me her best during one of those difficult times. And in return, I am stepping up and getting beyond what is comfortable. I feel like these are some of my best images, to date.

I don’t want to be one to sit on my laurels and think good is good enough. I want to see where I can grow and improve or take things up to the next level. In the interest of continuing my learning, I have submitted one of these images for public critique. It’s a critique to fine tune my artistic and technical skills as a photographer.

Whether or not it is chosen for this public critique is not really a relevant issue for me. I would very much like the critique (so critique on readers!) but it is always a big step for me to publicly place myself in a position where I may get any kind of attention, either good or bad. I typically like to hide in the shadows. But mediocrity lives there. And I want more than just being mediocre.

So props to me for putting myself out there, albeit in baby steps. And props to Tara for being a great kid! Stay focused on your dreams, on your education, on your family and your true friends and on your God. ♥

Contemporary, fashion inspired, glamour photo shoots for everyday women. Contemporary, fashion inspired, glamour photo shoots for everyday women. Contemporary, fashion inspired, glamour photo shoots for everyday women. Contemporary, fashion inspired, glamour photo shoots for everyday women. Contemporary, fashion inspired, glamour photo shoots for everyday women. Contemporary, fashion inspired, glamour photo shoots for everyday women.

Contemporary, fashion inspired, glamour photo shoots for everyday women.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

