comment 0

Goin’ Old School


How did we ever manage life without the internet?! I remember my senior year in high school being fascinated that I could plug in a telephone cable into the house computer that belonged to my step-dad and look up airfares. (Why airfares? I have no idea! I must have spent a lot of time daydreaming about all of the places I would like to visit.) Now, we live and breathe by the internet. It is life sustaining….. and I am feeling hopelessly out of place without it. We are in the process of moving (yet again!) and service is off at the old and not connected at the new. So, I’m doing things old school… Sitting in Starbucks desperately trying to navigate through the overtaxed wifi highway on a rebellious laptop.

I’ve been wanting to write for awhile. There has been so much going on both personally and professionally but trying to find the space that would allow me the presence of my mind has been difficult. I can’t say I am any clearer of my mind now, so I will just share the random thoughts that have crossed my mind over the course of the day.

I heard a radio commercial this morning and one line was “…too much to do and not enough time to do it…” Oh how I long for the days when I did not feel compelled to cram 20 things onto my to do list and feel guilty for only having completed 19 of them. And what about the days when I would spend an hour and a half getting exercise, come home and watch a movie and still drive my kid to and fro, make dinner, do my school work and the laundry? Where did those days go? It’s crazy because I can’t for the life of me figure out how or why life has gotten so full that I run from sun up to sun down saying I have GOT to do ALL these things. What would happen if I just didn’t do them? What if I made a rule for myself: no more than 3 must-do’s on a given day? Would my world still maintain its axis? I’ve convinced myself it wouldn’t but something tells me that I’ve been lying to myself in order to feel good about how productive I am. Hmmm…. the introspection is getting deep. Let’s move on.

My daughter is out in Tinsel Town spending time with Grammy and Grampy. While the almost summer skies in Murfreesboro fill with dark clouds that are ready to rain down, she is texting me she is headed for sun and surf at my old stomping grounds. Ok… I’ll admit it. My monster eyes have turned a new shade of green. Making a desperate plea to whoever is listening: Will work for time to vacay. Destin! Gulf Shores! Pensacola! I’m really ready for a visit!! I’m fairly certain the beach isn’t in my near future, but a trip to the desert is to shoot a dear friend’s marriage celebration party. That will be a fun trip and a fun party to shoot!

Let’s see… what other “random” thoughts have crossed my mind during this short writing session: CHOCOLATE!; “This jazz music is terrible.; “Dreading finishing the last bit of cleaning.”; CHOCOALTE!; “Oy! It’s getting really windy outside.”; “Rain’s fallin’. Bummer!”; “I need to get caught up on the Bachelorette (I’ll admit it. I watch it.).; CHOCOLATE!”

Earlier this morning, one of my favorite baristas said to me teasing, “Shayna you have such a hard life!” And I sarcastically replied, “I really do! I have a man who loves me, a great kid and every day I get to do what I love.” So how about I leave you with a few photos from a recent shoot.  She is beautiful: a beautiful friend, young woman, Christian and photographer. I had the privilege of second shooting for her last Saturday. Thank you Alyssa for allowing me to work with you. If you would like to see bits of her work you can find her at www.alyssajoyphoto.com.

Leave a Reply

