comment 1

Walking For A Cure


As my business continues to grow, I continue to work part-time in the evenings to supplement my income. My boss is the owner of Elements Therapeutic Massage in Murfreesboro, TN. (DISCLAIMER: Random selfless promotion! Elements has THE best licensed massage therapists! The staff is incredibly skilled, caring, helpful and able to meet your body’s needs. Your first visit is $49! Come in and see what the fuss is all about!! You won’t leave disappointed). A few weeks ago, she invited me to photograph the MS Walk here in the Boro. She is personally invested in raising awareness and funds to find a cure because a close family member of hers suffers from MS. Though she is my boss, I also consider her a friend and was more than happy to come out for a morning on a gorgeous Spring day, camera in hand. It was a family affair for me as well. My daughter worked along side me taking awesome photographs.

The morning began with registration and then the walk began. As people finished they circled back so they could cross the finish line with friends and family who were coming in behind them. PeopleĀ  enjoyed snacks, giveaways and each other’s company. The event itself was truly a celebration of life, love and community.

Everyone who walked today completely captured my heart for so many reasons. For one, Murfreesboro likes to think of itself as “big city” but in all reality, it’s pretty small. I was touched by just how many people participated. I was also struck by how many families came out together to walk, all generations, from babies to grandparents. There was such a sense of community as this whole group walked for one common goal. It made me tear up to see young people whose lives are already vastly affected by the disease. I had an overwhelming attitude of gratefulness that I am healthy and at the same time an anger that others aren’t due to lack of money, research or cure. I can’t quite wrap my head around how this country put a man on the moon in the mid-20th century but can’t make significant progress in medical research in the 21st century. That being said, I am grateful that there are people who are passionate about their work in research and have committed their lives to it.

I look forward to next year’s event and expect an even greater turn out.

Thanks Andrea for the invite to come! Deeply touched to be able to be a part of it.

(If you would like to see the images in slideshow mode, click on any image.)

1 Comment so far

Leave a Reply

