comments 7

Faith Exressed through Water


This weekend is one of my favorite weekends at church. Though it happens several times a year, only once a year is it this big. It’s baptism weekend. The church pulls out their big pools, sets up stadium seating outside and for each of the 4 services this weekend, we as a church body get to really actively join in on the celebration of someone’s milestone in their faith. The magnitude of people getting baptized and the festive atmosphere is awesome: so many children, siblings, couples and families sharing in their moment together.

I was baptized when I was 11. At that time, I attended a really cool, “come as you are” kind of church. Ski bums, beach bums, bikers, punk rockers, gym rats all attended alongside the well-versed, “church” people. We sometimes had baptisms down at Hermosa Beach or at the Seaside Lagoon. There would be BBQ’s and potlucks and amazing worship that went on all night. Being a part of a baptism service in that way has totally shaped how much I enjoy watching people take the plunge.

I had my camera last night at service and thought, “What a beautiful expression of water.”

 

7 Comments

    • That’s awesome! I love to hear that… and I know exactly how you feel. I have felt that, too.

  1. Todd Materazzi Photography

    The Lord is surely Glorified; what a great series to share. Praise Jesus.
    ~Todd

  2. These are beautiful pictures. I was recently baptized earlier this year. I had been attending church for quite some time and I knew my faith in the Lord, but my husband and I joined a new church that we are now members of and I got the opportunity to be “officially” baptized. =]

  3. Neil

    Absolutely, playing in water is always a big fun thing to do, especially when our dear ones are around us. The feeling of relaxation and calmness felt in water can’t be felt anywhere else. How lucky the aquatic animals are, they have to spend their entire life in water.

    Water Management

Leave a Reply

