comments 2

Flying High


The second photo challenge for this week is courtesy of Digital Photography School. If you are into photography and aren’t familiar with them, you may want to check them out. Their weekly newsletter is wonderful and includes a weekly challenge. Onto the big reveal….Drum roll please….. “Getting High”. Somebody has a sense of humor!  😉  And quite possibly his or her intoxicating cloud drifted into my airspace.

Today’s picture placed me eye to eye with a fear I have had since I was a child. I’m sure there are many people out there who deal with this same debilitating fear. It keeps me from sitting on a park bench under a tree or throwing bread crumbs on the sidewalk.

I wasn’t always afraid of birds but in 7th grade I had a close encounter with a flying sparrow at Disneyland in the line for the Autopia cars. The bird flew under the awning and his spread wing brushed against the side of my cheek. To tell you the truth, I don’t remember the horrifying episode.  My lifelong best friend was with me and she recalls clearly. Since then, birds and I have not been friends. Of course, the fact that they would steal my lunch while at the beach and poop on me hasn’t helped them win my affection either.

In my virtual intoxicated haze, I saw these pigeons on top of the buildings as I walked along the street. I got curious about what the perspective would be if I were eye to eye with them. So I made my way up. I can definitely say that no bird tried to attack me…or even paid much attention to me. What a relief! It allowed me to relax just enough to get a few pictures.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

