20120710Betty0013
Post Format

Unto Us a Foal was Born

154 comments

Ok… I know some of you may be wondering, “Has she completed converted to Southern, country life!?” Not entirely…at least not yet. But I am crazy over the baby donkeys that have been born at the home that I walk past every day during my morning walks. One year ago, Bradley- as I have affectionately named him- was born. I have photographed him from his infancy. And last week his brother, Oscar was born. So today I grabbed my camera (and backpack for fear it may rain while I’m 2 miles from the car) and my new 18-200mm lens that arrived last week and made tracks. I have no idea how on Earth I am going to whittle down the photographs to show just a few…. I don’t think I can. This donkey family is way too cute!

Welcome to the world, Oscar. ♥

I certainly couldn’t neglect Bradley, the long haired donkey, nor the rest of  the herd.

And one donkey in particular, was very fond of me. Perhaps it was because I kept feeding him grass…?

 

154 Comments Join the Conversation

    • Your comment was what first made me aware I was freshly pressed. Thank you! What a fun surprise to wake up to. Thank you for visiting and commenting. :)

      Reply

  1. Great Pic’s I love the one that where he is snuggling up to the older one. I’m a man but I couldn’t help but say, “Awww” when I saw that.

    Reply

  2. WHAT WONDERFUL PICTURES ! THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR SEEKING OUT THESE TREASURES. ANY BEING – ESPECIALLY IN ITS INFANCY IS A BEING OF WONDER. OF COURSE, THAT IS NOT TO SAY THAT ONCE THEY GROW, THEY ARE NOT A BEING OF WONDER – THEY ARE – BUT WHAT GETS IN THE WAY OF SEEING THE WONDER IS VERY OFTEN THE GENERAL DISPOSITION AND PERSONALITY OF THE BEING IN FRONT OF US. A SHAME BUT SO IT BE. KEEP YOUR LOVING WAYS!!!

    Reply

  3. Simply precious. Southern life certainly has its blissful moments. I am looking forward to reading more about your Southern life conversion.

    Reply

    • Thank you very much! I walk by there daily but I’ve never heard them… but would love to.

      Reply

  4. I don’t know what it is about donkeys that makes them so darned appealing, but they really are sweet-looking critters. Congrats on being FP!

    Reply

  5. congrats for being Freshly Pressed. The family is way too cute indeed! Your shots are pretty good.

    Reply

  6. You can’t go wrong with photos of the little burros. You’ve done a lovely job capturing them — great selection of legs and noses. :)
    irunibreathe.wordpress.com

    Reply

  7. Really cute donkeys! I love them. And your photography is also awesome! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    Reply

    • Lol! I just think they are all cute…. but they are funny. Thank you for visiting and commenting! :)

      Reply

  8. These donkeys are delightful. Tell us, are they working animals, or are they pets. They look like pets. They are so amazing to see! Thanks for the photos. :)

    Reply

  9. As always, your photo’s are so full of the beauty that escapes so many eyes. Thank you for sharing the beauty your eyes always seem to see where ever you are.

    Reply

    • Oh goodness! Ouch! The things we endure when we love animals… and teenaged daughters. ;)

      Reply

    • Thank you! I have always treasured nature in the form of ocean and marine life since that is what I grew up with. But now, I’m really growing to appreciate the beauty of the country. Thanks for reading.

      Reply

      • We recently moved from “city life” to the country and I love it so much!

  10. I think I have mentioned baby animals more than a few times on my blog- including naming a baby squirrel who lives in my rock wall! Baby anything is cute- thanks for the smile today! Drop by theusualbliss.com sometime- after the Freshly Pressed madness has settled! Congrats!

    Reply

    • Thank you! And it has been madness…of the most wonderfully, unexpected kind! This past fall I spent the weekend at a state park where I had a friendly, yet territorial squirrel as a weekend “pet”. I named him Rocky…and fed him triscuits. Perhaps that was why he became so territorial…;)

      Reply

    • I’ve not been around donkeys much in my life. It’s been fun getting to know their disposition and personality. Thank you for commenting and visiting.

      Reply

  11. They are so cut. And you are a very wonderful hostess, answering each comment. I enjoyed reading them.

    Reply

    • Thank you and thank you again! I’m glad you enjoyed reading them. I had a lot of fun photographing them.

      Reply

  12. just a cute as cute can be.I laughed when I saw the one with the plaque on his teeth.Momma hasn’t sent him to the dentist yet.Such cute pics.

    Reply

  13. Animals are so hilarious!! We have milk sheep, they make me laugh every day. Something about their ears.

    Reply

    • That’s exactly how I feel about the donkeys…just something them. Thanks for commenting.

      Reply

  14. Beautiful pictures. My uncle and aunt had a donkey who shared a paddock (field) with a chestnut horse called Ginger Meggs after an Australian funnies page character with red hair.. They both lived to a great age and had a peaceful existence..

    Reply

  15. Donkeys are just the sweetest, and these are no exception. Now, for all you people out there with an amazing story to share (and I’ll save you the time of reading a long description, you can see that on my blog), have a look at my blog, I’m trying out a new idea of collecting stories from all sorts of interesting people: http://pragmaticallyeccentric.wordpress.com/share-your-story/

    Don’t worry, it’s no spam, I’m just a 15 year-old girl in need of a Summer project and with a love of stories, I’d like to read them as much as the next person. So, I’m building a collection (or hoping to). Please, just take a look. Thank you.

    Reply

  16. Way to cute… and to see the cross on their backs is enough for me to adore these fine animals. Great pictures you’ve shared Shayna.

    Reply

  17. Great pics. As a Christian, I found your title eye-catching as most Christians would recognize the parallel to Isiah 9:6: “Unto us a child is born, unto us a child is given…” which is a prophesy written hundreds of years before the birth of Christ. I’m sure even many non-Christians have heard of this verse from Christmas cards and such. Appropriate title for your precious pics of Oscar seeing how the Lord chose a foal to ride when entering Jerusalem the week of his crucifixion. Thanks for sharing the loving pics. Oscar is a real cutie! Whenever I see a donkey (or camel) here in Oman, I always look for my camera for another pic. My wife is all like, “Another pic of a donkey! Don’t you have enough?” Nope!

    Reply

  18. oh my gosh, are they not the cutest things ever ! Welcome to the world Oscar!
    good post ! :)

    Reply

  19. So cute! I posted the full-face shot on pinterest because everyone needs to see those fuzzy wuzzy ears! Love the one of him “laughing” too!

    Reply

  20. I LOVE your pics of the donkeys, they are amazing creatures! Oscar is very cute, indeed, however I really like the long-haired Bradley! You’re quite good with a camera! Can’t wait to see more of your posts!

    Reply

  21. What a cute little donkey family! You have some great photos of them. And congrats on being freshly pressed!

    Reply

  22. They are adorable. I live in Ethiopia at the moment, where Donkey’s are a big part of life – they are worked very hard, but they always bring a smile to my face when I see them! I still haven’t figured out how to describe exactly what it is about them that makes me like Donkey’s so much! Nice photos, thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  23. Hello! To make this blog even more precious…my family is the owner of the donkeys in the pictures and unknown to shayna, we have a two year old son named Oscar! Her boyfriend stopped by our home today to let me know the donkeys are “famous”. I’m still shocked that when I read the blog I learned that she chose the name Oscar for our newest addition. Such a sweet coincidence! It’s made my day:)

    Reply

  24. Pingback: My Little Buttercup | Southern Girl Photography | Nashville Photographer

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

