comment 1

My Addictions


Assignment: My Addictions: Your challenge is to take and share an image on the theme of ‘My Addiction’. For me there is no doubt what I’ll be photographing – a rich creamy latte – coffee is my addiction. What is yours? Food, a person, your favourite gadget or camera or???

I love this photograph because it encapsulates the many things I am addicted to. I’m addicted to movement. I am in perpetual motion, and I love photographs that show a dynamic energy. I am addicted to the sweetness between a couple… particularly between me and mine. The willingness to walk hand in hand across the street and throughout life is a precious thing. I am addicted to looking for that beauty in other couples. I am addicted to walking. As a young girl, if I wanted to go anywhere, I walked there; and that fostered a life-long love for walking. There is one addiction that is not obvious in this image, yet, I would be remiss if I did not somehow acknowledge it: iced, tall, soy, no whip mocha from Starbucks…. but maybe that is where this couple was walking to. I’m pretty sure that is where I went just after taking this shot.

1 Comment so far

  1. Mr. FPM

    Seeing Starbucks in a photo that isn’t really there is kinda like looking at a blank sheet of paper and seeing a cow eating grass on a sunny day. I suppose you could make the argument that the cow ate up all the grass and went away to look for more and that the sun when behind the white clouds and that is why the page is . . . well….blank. But seeings how I know this photographer personally, I can tell you that she really does see Starbucks in everything and on every street corner . . . well actually, come to think of it, there IS a Starbucks on every corner!!!!!

Leave a Reply

