comments 5

Windows


This assignment, “Windows”, is not unlike many of the photography assignments I have done before. I read the instructions, formulate an idea and then begin to work that idea out. Through the process I realize that my efforts are as awkward as putting my size 10 foot in a size 6 shoe. It doesn’t feel right; it doesn’t look right; and it really just doesn’t fit me, my skill or my personality. But then, out of nowhere, right in the middle of the monotony of daily life (and staff meetings), I cross paths with the perfect subject for my assignment. Eyes.

They say that the eyes are the window to the soul. Nothing captures my soul more quickly than the soul of a child. I love little people. I love their honesty, their innocence, their brilliance and their individuality. To me, they are precious in every way.

Windows: There is loads of scope for creativity on this one including: practice your ‘framing’ shots, take a shot of whatever is outside (or inside) a widow where you live, find a cool widow frame that becomes the feature of the image, experiment with reflections in a window, do something more abstract and show us a window to your soul. Really anything goes – I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

 

 

 

5 Comments

  1. Lovely photographs, Shayna, and I particularly like them in B/W! The B/W gives a smooth, ivory colour/effect to your daughters’ skin, and this along with their eyes being in sharp focus, makes for lovely portraits. The added ‘wow’ factor is that you have caught the sparkle in their eyes and their personalities! Magic!

    Cheers

    John

    • This spontaneous shoot taught me a lot about myself as a photographer. I love little people, as I call them, and I felt so much joy from shooting them. This is an area that I am looking forward to pursue and grow in. Thank you so much for your kind comment!

Leave a Reply

