comments 3

Found Objects


I’ve taken this assignment and stretched it as far as one can possibly stretch it. As presented, the assignment was rather literal:

Found Objects– Something you see along the side of the road? A treasure you found in your attic? Did you find something that seems unusual or out of place? Keep your eyes open and really look at the things you might not generally notice…”

Though the object photgraphed, a barn and harvested cotton field, is seen along the side of the road… and the green in the field is definitely out of place for being the dead of winter… the object that I really found was time.

After an uncomfortable visit to the dentist, I had one hour of time before the sun would set. No calendar alerts were ringing my phone. My daughter was home and taken care of. I had the freedom to take an hour to photograph something I saw several months ago, a barn seemingly out of place along side the on-ramp to I-24 and a mere 1/2 mile from the newest mall . I drove past this barn every day to and from work and have been captivated by the way the sunlight falls on the barn at the end of the day. Today was the day when I had my camera with me, the sun was setting and I found the time to be there.

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. What beautiful images, both of the structures and the cotton. Farmsteads like these really are gems to treasured, particularly when they’re being encroached up by development. One never knows just how long they’ll be around. Thanks for posting these wonderful photos.

    • Thank you so much! There is something about farms and barns that I think are so beautiful. Southern life has so many interesting and eye catching things. Thank you for visiting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

