comments 2

Happy Anniversary!


Today is a milestone. It is the anniversary of my move across the country to a land unknown, to a place I now call home, Tennessee.

When I began my blogging journey, I expected that this first year in Tennessee might read a bit like a novel, having all of the components of any good story: an introduction, rising action, climax, falling action, and a conclusion.

The introduction to who I am and where I am from, my quirky personality and a bit of what motivates me was revealed in layers as the story has progressed. As I began to feel more comfortable in a public forum, being more transparent about my thoughts, hopes, dreams and struggles became easier to write and has allowed me the benefit of not only looking at my life introspectively but also from an outward perspective.

Much of the rising action of my story was exposed within the first few weeks after having arrived. I began to see that the plan I had for housing, employment and resources to get on our feet wasn’t working out like I had anticipated. (Writing that caused me to shake my head and smile at myself. I have grown a lot in this area. I have learned that life rarely goes according to my plan. But life still happens, and it happens beautifully.)

The climax came just prior to my third month “anniversary” and the debut of The Making of a Southern Girl. I had no job, no money and no place to live. Those were dark days, though not without hope. I just didn’t know where to look for the solution. It was through the generosity of the acquaintances I had begun to meet that led me to a place of some stability, albeit temporary stability.

The last 9 months have been the revealing of the falling action and where my readers have been able to share in the resolution of the conflicts that had arisen. We moved into our own place. We acclimated to living in the cold. I returned to school. I am gainfully employed. I found love.

And that leaves the conclusion… and that is where my expectation has been unmet. My story does not yet have a conclusion because my life is not a destination. It is a journey, and timing cannot be mandated by my own agenda. There are things that I thought would have been accomplished by year’s end but simply just need more time to reach fruition. Because of this, I would like to continue to blog but with a new look and a new challenge.

I will blog my way through my sophomore year in Tennessee attempting to find something to be genuinely grateful for each day, despite the monotonies and challenges that any given day may present. I hope that it will inspire readers to see his or her own life from a different perspective and set my way of thinking so that it reflects the kind of attitude I would like to be characterized by.

My freshman year has been measured in love. Follow me as my sophomore year is measured in gratitude.

2 Comments

  1. BoJo Photo

    Lovely post! Very well written. A nice outlook on life that makes me want to read more!!!

Leave a Reply

